top of page
  • Writer's pictureLena Grace

most wonderful time of the year


Christmas time is here, holidays are near! (cues Santa's almost Near by Florence K)

As time would have it, my favourite time of the year is here, and 2018 is drawing to a close. This has been such an unbelievable journey; from the exchange program at my old school to a sweetest 16th to multiple UWC interviews to my March 21st acceptance and choir Grand Slam to bittersweet farewells and lasts to leaving home on my own to California making my way up the West Coast to Victoria and starting a new life thousands of miles away from the familiarity.

And, as the norm, I'm sitting here supposedly working on my English Written Task and ending up procrastinating since my proposal just got rejected *tears* when the thing is due in two days. Either way. It's Block Week this week, but my exams are done and so I'm just sitting here breathing the lasts of the fresh air and giddy with anticipation because one week until home. It's been truly hard spending much of the buildup to the holiday season away from family, friends and missing out on all the festive excitement, since, let's face it, regardless of the colder weather here, Christmas truly isn't the same away from home.

So, aside from drowning myself in 'I'll Be Home for Christmas', (homesickness is bound to settle in this time of year :'), I've been enjoying the last of this term and making the most of Pearson life in the little remainder this year has left. It is simply unbelievable as I look back on the events 2018 has brought and see just how much of a 180 degree turn my life has taken. Also, learning from the mistakes I've made so far, setting my goals and expectations for next year, and aiming to make the future even better. And so for now, academics, SATs, building and strengthening relationships, working on building a portfolio, summer plans, the list goes on.

Either way! It's been a wonderful weekend, getting to spend a day in Victoria doing Christmas shopping and feeling the festive spirit, House Christmas dinner on Saturday evening when we finally did our Christmas Buddy reveals (thank you Anne-So for being the sweetest!), catching a spontaneous late night session of A Star Is Born last Thursday night (Kati did a very effective job of convincing me) and just getting to relax for a bit after my FOAs, written tasks and oral exams.

Very much looking forward to the end of the week, and enjoying every last moment before then,

Lena


34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page