top of page
  • Writer's pictureLena Grace

The First Few Weeks at Pearson


This weekend marks 2 and a half weeks since my adventure at Pearson started. As I’m writing this, I’m in awe; rather than how time has already passed by so soon, I’m wondering how it has only been a mere 18 days. Already the workload is piling on, schedules jam-packed, and plans being made for the coming days, and already this place is so familiar I feel like I’ve been here for a lifetime. Settling in was relatively easier than expected. I won’t say it was a breeze, because it’s never that way when you leave your entire life behind to an entirely unfamiliar environment so different from what you’re used to, aka,

(WHERE IS CIVILIZATION? WHERE ARE MY MALLS WHERE ARE MY CONVENIENCE STORES WHERE IS ALL THE NOISE AND LIGHT POLLUTION WHY ARE THERE STARS AT NIGHT AND WHY ARE THERE SO MANY TREES AND CLEAR WATERS SURROUNDING ME)

but other than occasional waves of nostalgia that last for maybe a minute or so, I’ve been trying to quickly adjust and find this my new home.

It is absolutely breathtaking here, and the nature never ceases to amaze me. Honestly, those who know me would know: I’m the least outdoorsy person you could ever meet, and weirdly, (hates) nature, which has earned me more than a few clarifications: and yet you placed Pearson as your first choice? Weirdly enough, in the short time I’ve been here, that side of me has already started evolving plenty. I’ve willingly gone on more than a few hikes (which would never have happened prior to Pearson), survived a 5.8km hike to Beechey Head (AND SAW ORCAS I REPEAT ORCAS) and been exploring more of what nature has to offer. And surprisingly, loving it.

As per last week, orientation has officially ended, giving way to classes that are such a stark contrast to what I’m used to. Waking up before my 8:10 alarm, stuffing everything into my backpack, rushing to the caf for a bagel and to the respective classrooms at 8:30 sharp has already become a sort of routine. The fact that there are only 4 classes per day still throws me off guard sometimes; how has the day ended already? but otherwise I’m loving most of my classes, especially marine science (a primary reason for placing Pearson as my top choice). Despite classes having just started, there is already a hectic workload and having to balance everything is gradually starting to prove a struggle.

As I’m writing this, I’m on the bus returning from an overnight camping trip with my house (EAST HOUSE BEAST HOUSE) where it was so nice just to get away from everything and enjoy a relaxing evening in each other’s company making s’mores, singing along to campfire songs and telling horror stories that ended up being hilarious. It’s absolutely beautiful to see a group of people who all just met 2 weeks ago bond under the glow of the ambers and the raindrops following soon after, huddled together beside the fires and singing their hearts out. Now a scene forever captured in my memory.

Now back to the math and philosophy homework due tomorrow :'(

(and also I really do need to work on my posting schedule since I haven't updated anything about summer)

signing off,

Lena

96 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

most wonderful time of the year

Christmas time is here, holidays are near! (cues Santa's almost Near by Florence K) As time would have it, my favourite time of the year is here, and 2018 is drawing to a close. This has been such an

bottom of page